Box Office 01223 357851

For music, comedy and entertainment in Cambridge

Cambridge Corn Exchange

You are here

Thanks for purchasing tickets - we hope you enjoy the show.
Why not tell your friends too? Just click on the Facebook and Twitter buttons below.

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Thu 22 May

Cambridge Corn Exchange
Nicholas Collon

Conductor: Nicholas Collon
Cello: Julian Lloyd Webber
Soprano: Sally Harrison
Britten: Four Sea Interludes
Elgar: Cello Concerto
Vaughan Williams: Symphony No.3 

The 2013/14 Cambridge Classical Concert Series concludes with a quintessentially English concert.

Benjamin Britten's Peter Grimes is regarded by many as the greatest English opera ever written. Its Four Sea Interludes, originally written as scene change music, have now become arguably even more popular than the opera itself, perfectly mirroring the characters' shifting emotional tides.  After three inspirational years in the post, world famous cellist Julian Lloyd Webber makes his final appearance this evening as Corn Exchange Artist in Residence with a vivid and passionate performance of Elgar's sublime Cello Concerto. The evening ends with Vaughan Williams' elegiac Symphony No. 3, with celebrated soprano Sally Harrison ending the series on a beautiful, ethereal note.

Did you know?
Vaughan Williams wrote his Symphony No. 3 as a reaction to his experiences in the First World War.


Please call 01223 357851 to book.

Show type:

Ticket Information

£35, £31, £26


Student Tickets £10

Group Bookings £15 per ticket for groups of 20 or more.

Plus £2.25 booking fee per ticket

Thursday 22 May

7:30 pm